Posted by: COSI | June 26, 2009

Seriously, take a little time to relax.

Guest post by Jen Snively, COSI VP of Programs

So, I discovered yesterday that I need to take 18 vacation/personal days before August 25th (my 15th COSI Anniversary) or I’ll lose them forever. Now, this doesn’t mean that I’ll have used all my vacation days for the year – it actually means that I’ll carry over a full 4 weeks of vacation, the maximum amount that I can carry. I’m not the only one in this boat, at COSI or at any other company. Expedia.com did a survey this year and found that 34% of Americans leave vacation time on the table every year. And now we have the economy and job worries to consider, so some people are deciding not to take vacation time at all.

So, what am I going to do?

I’m taking my 18 days, without a moment’s regret! A week on Lake Huron at my family’s house, a weeklong cruise with my guy and his family, a long weekend here and there. I’ve got it all mapped out.

Lake Huron

Lake Huron

Now, don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love my job. Working at COSI is the coolest job out there, yes, it does have its moments, but it really is an amazing place to work and the direction that we are taking this institution is exactly where it needs to go! Still, everyone needs a break and we shouldn’t feel as if we can’t make taking time off a priority.

I know I’ll come back refreshed and ready to take on my job with renewed energy. I find I never truly turn COSI off in my mind and I’m looking forward to having a little distance and perspective. I have some things I haven’t taken the time to think about, which I’m looking forward to keeping in the back of my mind while I’m gone.

I think a lot about leadership and how I lead my team. This year one of the ways I’m going to lead is by example; taking some much needed time away from here to relax and spend some quality time with my family and friends. Hopefully my team will follow that lead. If not, I’ll certainly encourage them to do so.

So, if you can swing it. Use your vacation time. It doesn’t have to be a week. It doesn’t have to be to an exotic destination. Just take some time for you. You and everyone around you will be better because of it.

Save me a seat by the pool…

Responses

  1. Nice post Jen – I think you are right about taking time off it is an important part of work – if we don’t rest we can’t be as effective.

  2. Excellent site, keep up the good work


Leave a Reply

Categories

