Posted by: COSI | September 23, 2009

500 Miles Away Makes Me An Expert

Today I’m in Burlington, Vermont where I’ve been asked to share the COSI story of creating our Center of Science approach. The ECHO aquarium and science center of the Leahy Center of Lake Champlaign is an excellent new resource looking at it’s next phase of growth and impact. My colleague and friend, Dr. Phelan Fretz, is the leader at ECHO, and I’m assisting with his board retreat.

sunsetbarnconference

It’s nice that our story is being sought out for inspiration and example. It’s also nice to be back in rustic New England with it’s natural and rural attractiveness. Phelan “paid” me for my services by taking me on a hike up Mt. Philo to look out over the lake and valley during a gorgeous sunset, and then have me spend the day with his board in a refurbished barn that screams New England.

Sharing is a big part of the science center field culture–and this is a great way to make my contribution!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

