Posted by: COSI | December 25, 2010

Did you miss the eclipse?

Now I know we all missed the eclipse on the winter solstice due to clouds, but I wonder how many people “missed” or lamenting the fact that they couldn’t see it.

This is the first science center I’ve worked at that didn’t have an observatory directly associated with it.

December 2010 Lunar Eclipse

I remember at the others the incredible attraction that celestial happenings would generate. People would stay up way past midnight or come out at 5:00 am if it gave them a chance of seeing a comet or an eclipse. They would stand an hour in line patiently in the cold for a few moments to look through the eyepiece of a telescope at the “real thing.” It was always amazing to watch.

Did you try to watch the eclipse another way—such as a web link? Do you normally try to watch special celestial happenings like meteor showers, comets, or lunar eclipses?

P.S. I’m gradually getting the ability to type as my recovery continues from shoulder surgery—they may be short, but I’ll try to get back on a regular blog schedule.

Happy Holidays!

Responses

  1. Happy New Year!

    Sorry this has nothing to do with the eclipse (which I did see part of), but I don’t know where else to leave the comment…

    Over the holidays I had the good fortune to visit COSI for the first time in many years with my brother, sister-in-law, and 5 year old nephew. The facility and exhibits are tremendous and we truly had a fun time.

    I was surprised, though, by one thing. Despite the crowd of children of every age (in the middle of winter) and nearly every exhibit being hands-on interactive, the only hand sanitizer I encountered was in the locker area at the entrance/exit. I’m sure there would be downsides (cost, etc.), but it seems like at least some disease may be averted by provision of sanitizer here and there for kids whose parents forgot to pack it. It seems to show up in every classroom nowadays from preschool on up.

    One particularly creative patient of mine yesterday suggested that it would make a great group-participation research project (swiping and tracking post-visit illness before and after implementation)!


Leave a Reply

Categories

