Posted by: COSI | May 27, 2011

What is it about dinosaurs?

As a kid I was like many others—had a host of plastic dinosaurs for which I knew all the names and for the most part their roles in their ecosystems from books and from visits to my hometown Cleveland Museum of Natural History. And today, over half a century later, dinosaurs still have an appeal but with an understanding that is so vastly improved and different from my day. It was fun to watch the adult reactions to the sneak preview of our Dinosaur exhibition that we are opening this Saturday, May 28. The fascination with dinosaurs isn’t left behind in our early years from what I could tell at the media/VIP preview. People were as engaged in the dinosaur simulators that give you a chance to live in the ecosystem as a particular dino as they were with the casts of skulls and bones sporting toothmarks from a T Rex. I have the sense that I’ll be going back in multiple times to satisfy my own, still compelling interest in these creatures from a very different time in earth’s history. 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

